Northern Territory News • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 11:59AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:59AM Thu24°
Melbourne11:59AM Thu16°
Brisbane10:59AM Thu24°
Perth8:59AM Thu17°
Adelaide11:29AM Thu
Hobart11:59AM Thu15°
Canberra11:59AM Thu20°
Darwin10:29AM Thu31°

Thursday

22.10.2020

Northern Territory news

Want to know what’s happening in the Northern Territory? We’ve got it covered.

We guarantee the most up-to-date new stories about the NT, which are written by local, national and international reporters exclusively for you.

$1.2bn boost for northern Australia

18 June 2015 In: Darwin, Northern Territory, General

Northern Australia is to get $1.2 billion in new money in a bid to boost infrastructure, jobs and business. Prime Minister Tony Abbott this week unveiled a new 20-year plan for the region that also includes new roads and water resources. “If the north does well, our country does well,” Abbott told reporters. “The money will go towards better infrastructure and more efficient and effective land use. It’s directed towards making the north more attractive…

Northern Australia grows 1.8% a year

18 May 2015 In: Jobs, Northern Territory, Economy, General

The population of Northern Australia is growing faster than any other part of Australia The finding comes as part of a new Commonwealth Government report that shows Northern Australia’s population growing more quickly than Australia as a whole, at 1.8% a year, compared to 1.6% in the broader population. If this growth continues Northern Australia will be home to around 1.77m people by 2031, while upper estimates put the future population at 2.1 million. The…

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy