Local:
Sydney: Mon 12:35PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:35PM Mon25°
Melbourne12:35PM Mon13°
Brisbane12:35PM Mon28°
Perth10:35AM Mon11°
Adelaide12:05PM Mon17°
Hobart12:35PM Mon13°
Canberra12:35PM Mon15°
Darwin12:05PM Mon31°

About Australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Facts and Figures

With an area of almost 7.7 million km2, Australia is the sixth largest country in the world. Thanks to its red-hot centre, around 85% of Australians live within 50km of the beach.


quick facts about australia

general

  • Population: 24 million
  • Area: 7,692,024 km2
  • Government Capital: Canberra (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Administrative Divisions: 6 states and 2 territories
  • Currency: Australian dollar (AUD)
  • Financial Year: 1 July – 30 June

australian time zones

australian western standard time (awst)

  • State(s) Included: Western Australia
  • Hours Relating to GMT: 8 hours ahead

australian central standard time (acst)

  • State(s) Included: South Australia, Northern Territory
  • Hours Relating to GMT: 9.5 hours ahead

australian eastern standard time (aest)

  • State(s) Included: New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory
  • Hours Ahead of GMT: 10 hours ahead

daylight savings time (dst)

Daylight Savings Time (DST) runs from 2:00am on the first Sunday in October (local time), when clocks are set forward by an hour, until 3:00am on the first Sunday in April, where clocks are set back an hour.

Designed to make the most of the summer months, it affects New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory.

During this time the following time zones apply:

  • New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania: 11 hours ahead of GMT
  • South Australia: 10.5 hours ahead of GMT

telephone area codes

  • Australian Country Code: 61
  • Outgoing Access Code (for making overseas calls within Australia): 0011
  • States and Territories: 
    • New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory: 02
    • Victoria, Tasmania: 03
    • Mobile telephones (Australia-wide): 04
    • Queensland: 07
    • Western Australia, South Australia, Northern Territory: 08

If you’re calling from outside Australia, leave out the ‘0’ from before the state or territory area code.

For example, if you want to call a Western Australian landline you’d dial +61 8 [their local eight digit number]. If you’re calling their mobile you’d dial +61 4 [their eight digit mobile number].

geography

  • Area: 7.692 million km²
  • Capital City: Canberra
  • Largest City: Sydney
  • Highest Point: Mt. Kosciusko 7,310 ft (2.23 km)
  • Lowest Point: Lake Eyre -39 ft. (-12 m.)
  • Longest River: Murray River (2,520 km)

climate and lifestyle

Australia has a warm, sunny climate, which means outdoor dining and a variety of sports are part of the Australian way of life.

To learn more about each state’s unique climate click here.

Image of people on the Devils marble, NT

People on the Devils Marble, Northern Territory.

national holidays 2016

  • New Year’s Day: 1 January
  • Australia Day: 26 January
  • Good Friday: 25 March
  • Easter Monday: 17 April
  • Anzac Day: 28 March
  • Queen’s Birthday: 13 June (ACT, NT, SA, VIC, NSW, TAS), 3 October (QLD), 26 September (WA)
  • Christmas: 25–26 December

useful links