Weather • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 4:39AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney4:39AM Mon22°
Melbourne4:39AM Mon16°
Brisbane3:39AM Mon21°
Perth1:39AM Mon18°
Adelaide4:09AM Mon17°
Hobart4:39AM Mon16°
Canberra4:39AM Mon11°
Darwin3:09AM Mon29°

About Australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Weather

Due to its size and geographic location, Australia is spread over a range of different climactic zones and weather patterns.

We’ve put together a state by state summary of the weather you can look forward to in Australia.


new south wales

NSW has a mild climate, with variations across its coastal and mountainous regions (with the the Blue Mountains in particular being the coolest).

  • Summer average: 24–30°C
  • Winter average: 12°C
  • Average rainfall: 300–1,500 mm

Learn more about New South Wales.

victoria

Despite its small size, Victoria’s climactic range is broad – from the north east snowfields that see temperatures below freezing to the semi-arid (and very dry) north west. Generally, though, it has a cool, temperate climate.

  • Summer average: 18–21°C
  • Winter average: 6–12°C
  • Average rainfall: 400–1,500 mm

Learn more about Victoria.

queensland

Thanks to its large size there’s a significant difference between the climates across the state, such as the monsoonal, tropical north and subtropical south.

  • Summer average: 24–33°C
  • Winter average: 15–24°C
  • Average rainfall: 200–1,500 mm

Learn more about Queensland.

western australia

WA takes up a third of the Australian continent, so it’s no surprise that its weather is varied from tropical in the far north to a dry inland and Mediterranean Perth.

  • Summer average: 21°C in the south west, 24°C in Perth and 33°C in the north
  • Winter average: 11°C in the south west and Perth, 21°C in the north
  • Average rainfall: 200–1,500 mm

Learn more about Western Australia.

south australia

SA’s weather is Mediterranean by the coast but hot and dry inland.

  • Summer average: 24–33°C
  • Winter average: 9–15°C
  • Average rainfall: 200–1,000 mm

Learn more about South Australia.

tasmania

The weather in Tasmania is mild and temperate, though winters can be very chilly.

  • Summer average: 12–18°C
  • Winter average: 3–12°C
  • Average rainfall: 600–3,000 mm

Learn more about Tasmania.

australian capital territory

Canberra’s climate is dry and continental, though it can be remarkably cold in winter.

  • Summer average: 18–21°C
  • Winter average: 3–6°C
  • Average rainfall: 400–600 mm

Learn more about the Australian Capital Territory.

northern territory

The NT has a desert climate in central Australia and a tropical monsoonal climate in the coastal north that sees a dramatic, stormy wet season and a sunny dry season.

  • Summer average: 27–33°C
  • Winter average: 12–24°C
  • Average rainfall: 200–2,000 mm

Learn more about the Northern Territory.

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy