Local:
Sydney: Sat 10:59AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:59AM Sat25°
Melbourne10:59AM Sat24°
Brisbane9:59AM Sat25°
Perth7:59AM Sat19°
Adelaide10:29AM Sat23°
Hobart10:59AM Sat18°
Canberra10:59AM Sat24°
Darwin9:29AM Sat30°

Travel

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Travel to New South Wales

New South Wales is home to Sydney, one of Australia’s largest and most well known cities that boasts the Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Bondi Beach as just a few of its popular tourist destinations.

The state has plenty to offer both within its famed state capital and beyond. Get some fresh air at a number of charming coastal towns like Byron Bay, enjoy gourmet food and wine in the Hunter Valley and have lots of snowy fun in the Blue Mountains.


key facts

SydneyOH_205x137

  • Location: Between Queensland and Victoria on the south-east side of Australia
  • Population: 7,565,000
  • Size: 800,642 km2

weather

NSW has a mild climate, with variations across its coastal and mountainous regions (with the the Blue Mountains in particular being the coolest).

  • Summer average: 24–30°C
  • Winter average: 12°C
  • Average rainfall: 300–1,500 mm

about new south wales

At over 800,000 km2, NSW is actually physically larger than many European countries and has around 900 national parks.

Its eastern coast is bordered by the Pacific Ocean and has an array of stunning beaches, while the state’s west is populated by rural farming towns and bushland, and the south has snowy alpine regions.

NSW is rich in variety, from the cultural hub of Sydney to charming coastal towns such as Byron Bay, the famed Hunter Valley wine region and inland cities such as Tamworth, Australia’s country music capital.

about sydney

Sydney is as vibrant as it is progressive. The range of food and eclectic nightlife are just a small part of what keeps the culture modern and thriving.

Known for iconic landmarks such as the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, it’s also located on the coast and boasts over 30 beaches. Manly Beach, Bondi Beach and Palm Beach (from TV’s Home and Away) are just a handful of the options on offer.

The frequently balmy climate and comprehensive public transport network make Sydney a thoroughly explorable city.

It’s also a cultural hotspot, home to the Sydney Theatre Company and the massive annual Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras, a televised event that celebrates the diversity of this community and attracts visitors from all over the world.