Australian Money • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 11:16AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:16AM Mon28°
Melbourne11:16AM Mon20°
Brisbane10:16AM Mon28°
Perth8:16AM Mon17°
Adelaide10:46AM Mon20°
Hobart11:16AM Mon21°
Canberra11:16AM Mon25°
Darwin9:46AM Mon29°

About Australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australian Money

As a decimal currency, there are 100 cents in one Australian dollar.

Recently the Australian dollar has fluctuated in value between US70¢ and US80¢.

money value

Finding the very best exchange rates can save you thousands of pounds when migrating.

We can connect you with great financial services – just ask our team of friendly finance experts through our dedicated 24/7 helpline or check out the Finance section.

australian notes

Australian notes are quite distinct because of their unique colour. They come in the following denominations:

  • $100 (green)
  • $50 (yellow)
  • $20 (red/orange)
  • $10 (blue)
  • $5 (purple/pink)

australian coins

Australian coins are referred to as gold and silver and consist of various weights and sizes. The terms “gold” and “silver” refer to their appearance rather than the metal material used.

The coins are separated into the following denominations:

  • $2 (gold)
  • $1 (gold)
  • 50¢ (silver)
  • 20¢ (silver)
  • 10¢ (silver)
  • 5¢ (silver)

It’s very common in Australia to have sausage sizzles (the Aussie equivalent of a hotdog, with a barbecued sausage on white bread) for a ‘gold coin donation’, to raise money for charities and community organisations.

coin use restrictionsaustralian_money2

1¢ and 2¢ copper coins haven’t been in circulation since 1992.

5¢ coins aren’t accepted in most coin operated tollbooths, parking meters and food vending machines.

Also, if you’re planning on driving it’s wise to carry enough change for parking and tollbooths.

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy