Local:
Sydney: Sun 10:43PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:43PM Sun17°
Melbourne10:43PM Sun15°
Brisbane10:43PM Sun17°
Perth8:43PM Sun18°
Adelaide10:13PM Sun13°
Hobart10:43PM Sun13°
Canberra10:43PM Sun
Darwin10:13PM Sun26°

About Australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Brisbane

Capital of the ‘Sunshine State’, this stunning coastal city is one of Australia’s most popular tourist destinations and, as its growing population attests, many are keen to call it home.

Brisbane is known for its tropical weather and beautiful beaches but it’s also a modern city with a bustling CBD and thriving café scene.


key facts

  • Location: On the lower east coast of Queensland, above New South Wales
  • Population: 2,270,000
  • Size: 1,140 km2

weather

Brisbane has a subtropical climate, which means hot, humid summers and warm, dry winters.

  • Summer average: 25°C
  • Winter average: 16°C
  • Average rainfall: 1,200 mm

working in brisbane

Some key contributors to Brisbane’s economy are construction, education, health, retail and government, which account for half of the city’s total workforce.

Meanwhile, business services is the largest employing sector in Brisbane and accounts for one quarter of its economy, with the unemployment rate currently sitting at 5.9% of the population.

Some of its major exports are education and tourism, which is unsurprising given the number of universities and tourist attractions that lie within the city borders.

studying in brisbane

Brisbane is home to seven of Queensland’s 10 universities, and a large population of international students.

The Brisbane Welcomes International Students Festival has over 8,000 students participate every year, and the Brisbane Lord Mayor hosts regular International Student Friendship ceremonies at which international students can receive a personally-signed certificate from the City of Brisbane.

The QS World University Rankings includes three of Brisbane’s universities: the University of Queensland, Queensland University of Technology and Griffith University.

housing and property

As a popular coastal city with a steadily-growing population, the cost of living in Brisbane is on the higher side yet it’s nowhere near the most expensive cities such as Sydney and Melbourne.

The average weekly cost of rent currently sits at around AUD $430 while the median house price has now reached AUD $544,000 (as at January 2016).

transport

Public transportation in Brisbane is some of the costliest in the country, with a single journey costing around AUD $4.50.

However, this is balanced by the fact that Brisbane’s public transport system is highly efficient and it’s very convenient to get around the city.

Regular commuters can save money on public transport by purchasing a Go Card, which has 30% cheaper fares than paper tickets and allows users to travel on bus, train, tram and ferry services.

queensland

Queensland is frequently known as the ‘Sunshine State’ for its beautiful outdoor weather. It has a tropical climate, particularly in the North, where atmospheric storms occur during the hot and humid wet season.

The state is home to a number of beautiful natural features such as stunning beaches, rainforests and perhaps most famously the Great Barrier Reef, which is the world’s largest coral reef.

Another popular destination for visitors is the Gold Coast, which is home to an array of theme parks and notably Surfer’s Paradise, a suburb that lures plenty of tourists to its beaches and nightlife.

handy links