Local:
Sydney: Mon 12:31PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:31PM Mon25°
Melbourne12:31PM Mon13°
Brisbane12:31PM Mon28°
Perth10:31AM Mon11°
Adelaide12:01PM Mon17°
Hobart12:31PM Mon13°
Canberra12:31PM Mon15°
Darwin12:01PM Mon31°

About Australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Adelaide

Adelaide is one of Australia’s smaller state capitals and is more affordable than fellow state capitals Sydney and Melbourne.

The city has a strong cultural reputation with a food and wine culture that’s bolstered by the local seafood industry and wine from the Barossa valley. It’s also home to the Adelaide Fringe Festival, the largest open-access arts festival in the Southern hemisphere.


key facts

  • Location: Adelaide sits on the Southeast coast of South Australia bordered by the Gulf of Saint Vincent
  • Population: 1,305,000
  • Size: 3,257 km2

weather

Adelaide has a hot Mediterranean climate.

  • Summer average: 23°C
  • Winter average: 12°C
  • Average rainfall: 550 mm

working in adelaide

Adelaide’s largest industry is health care and social assistance, which in 2011 employed 15% of the population.

Education and training, professional, scientific and technical services and accommodation and food services are also strong contributors to the city’s economy.

The accommodation and food services sector has been growing in recent years. As a coastal town, Adelaide has a strong reputation for seafood and this is one of its strongest commodities.

studying in adelaide

Adelaide has three long established public universities: Flinders University, The University of Adelaide, and the University of South Australia.

The city is also home to the Australian campuses of some well-known international universities: Carnegie Mellon University from the US and the UK’s College London University. Torrens University, which has campuses in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane also has a base in Adelaide.

Due to health and social services being Adelaide’s largest economic contributor, there are plenty of educational opportunities for students interested in the health sector.

There are also many opportunities for students of business, philosophy and media.

housing and property

Adelaide’s housing market is inexpensive when compared to nearby state capitals Sydney and Melbourne.

On average in January 2016 housing cost AUD $467,000 while rent was around AUD $365 per week.

transport

The Adelaide Metro has a range of public transport services including trains, buses and trams.

Paper tickets can be used on all these services as can the Metrocard, which is convenient for frequent transport and also offers users cheaper fares.

Due to its wide roads, cycle lanes and shared use paths, Adelaide is a great city to explore by bicycle.

south australia

SA is Australia’s driest state. Despite this, it still houses one of the country’s most fertile wine regions, the Barossa Valley, which has a strong international reputation.

Manufacturing the largest sector of the state’s economy, and agriculture also serves a major contribution to the state’s production and economic growth.

Along its southern coast, SA has a number of charming seaside towns such as Glenelg.

There are also a number of unique towns in its central region, in particular the town of Coober Pedy, which is struck so severely by the dry heat in summer that half of its population lives in dugouts underground.

handy links