Local:
Sydney: Sat 11:01AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:01AM Sat25°
Melbourne11:01AM Sat24°
Brisbane10:01AM Sat25°
Perth8:01AM Sat19°
Adelaide10:31AM Sat23°
Hobart11:01AM Sat18°
Canberra11:01AM Sat24°
Darwin9:31AM Sat30°

About Australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Phoning Australia

australian telephone area codes

  • Australian Country Code: 61
  • Outgoing Access Code (for making overseas calls within Australia): 0011
  • States and Territories: 
    • New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory: 02
    • Victoria, Tasmania: 03
    • Mobile telephones (Australia-wide): 04
    • Queensland: 07
    • Western Australia, South Australia, Northern Territory: 08

dialling australia from overseas

If you’re calling from outside Australia, enter the Australian country code of ’61’ and leave out the ‘0’ from before the state or territory area code.

For example, if you want to call a Western Australian landline you’d dial +61 8 [their local eight digit number]. If you’re calling their mobile you’d dial +61 4 [their eight digit mobile number].

australian mobile phone service

The major telephone companies in Australia (Telstra, Vodafone, Optus and Virgin) offer both pre-paid and post-paid services. Better yet, many allow you to use your existing mobile phone handset, with an Australian purchased SIM card.

dialling overseas numbers from australia

If you’re in Australia and want to call an overseas number you’ll need to add ‘0011’ before the country’s code and the person’s phone number.

You can make international calls from public payphones and a lot of them accept credit cards and phone cards (which can give you cheap international rates so it’s worth shopping around to find the best one).