Visit the Australian Capital Territory | thinkingaustralia
Local:
Sydney: Fri 8:51PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:51PM Fri22°
Melbourne8:51PM Fri26°
Brisbane7:51PM Fri21°
Perth5:51PM Fri18°
Adelaide8:21PM Fri16°
Hobart8:51PM Fri18°
Canberra8:51PM Fri22°
Darwin7:21PM Fri31°

Travel

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Travel to the Australian Capital Territory

Home to the entire nation’s capital city, Canberra, and Parliament House, the Australian Capital Territory is a focal point for government and law.

Over half the total area of the ACT is covered in beautiful national parks and forest. An alpine region lies in the southwest of the territory, with mountains that become capped with snow in winter.


key facts

  • Location: Within the NSW borders, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne
  • Population: 390,000
  • Size: 2,358 km2

weather

Canberra’s climate is dry and continental, though it can be remarkably cold in winter.

  • Summer average: 18–21°C
  • Winter average: 3–6°C
  • Average rainfall: 400–600 mm

about the australian capital territory

The ACT is Australia’s smallest self-governing territory, spanning less than 3,000 km2.

A three hour drive from Sydney, the territory itself sits within New South Wales, although it has its own separate territory government.

The ACT is built on Ngunnawal country. The Indigenous Ngunnawal people populated the region for approximately 21,000 years prior to the European settlement in the 1820s and their artefacts can be found in Tidbinbilla Nature Reserve and Namadgi National Park.

Out and about in the ACT

Out and about in the ACT.

about canberra

Canberra is Australia’s purpose-built national capital, after it was decided in 1908 that a different site outside of Sydney or Melbourne was needed.

An international competition was held to design the new capital city and over 130 entries were made.

The resulting city that we see today is built around the man-made Lake Burley Griffin, and has come to house a number of iconic national landmarks including the Australian War Memorial, Parliament House and the National Library of Australia.

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy