Local:
Sydney: Mon 12:32PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:32PM Mon25°
Melbourne12:32PM Mon13°
Brisbane12:32PM Mon28°
Perth10:32AM Mon11°
Adelaide12:02PM Mon17°
Hobart12:32PM Mon13°
Canberra12:32PM Mon15°
Darwin12:02PM Mon31°

Travel

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Travel to South Australia

South Australia features much of the country’s desert landscapes, which have been used for films such as Mad Max: Beyond the Thunderdome.

As well as being Australia’s driest state, it’s also home to the famed Barossa Valley wine region and its state capital, Adelaide, is home to the country’s largest open-access arts festival.


key facts

  • Location: The southern, middle portion of the continent, in between Western Australia and Victoria (with the Northern Territory above it)
  • Population: 1,699,000
  • Size: 983,482 km2

weather

SA’s weather is Mediterranean by the coast but hot and dry inland.

  • Summer average: 24–33°C
  • Winter average: 9–15°C
  • Average rainfall: 200–1,000 mm

about south australia

South Australia is the driest state in Australia, which in turn is the driest continent in the world.

In the state’s central region, the dry heat is so severe in summer that in the town of Coober Pedy half the population lives in dugouts underground. The town also produces most of the world’s opals and has striking desert scenery.

about adelaide

Adelaide’s known as the ‘City of Churches’ due to the high number of historical and architecturally beautiful religious buildings throughout the city – though no-one tell them that Sydney actually has the largest number of churches in a state capital!

Home to a wide variety of festivals, the most notable is the Adelaide Fringe Festival, which is the largest open-access arts festival in the Southern Hemisphere and attracts performers from across the globe.