Local:
Sydney: Mon 3:55PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney3:55PM Mon21°
Melbourne3:55PM Mon26°
Brisbane2:55PM Mon27°
Perth12:55PM Mon29°
Adelaide3:25PM Mon
Hobart3:55PM Mon24°
Canberra3:55PM Mon19°
Darwin2:25PM Mon31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Northern Australia grows 1.8% a year

18 May 2015 by News Desk

travel-planes01The population of Northern Australia is growing faster than any other part of Australia

The finding comes as part of a new Commonwealth Government report that shows Northern Australia’s population growing more quickly than Australia as a whole, at 1.8% a year, compared to 1.6% in the broader population. If this growth continues Northern Australia will be home to around 1.77m people by 2031, while upper estimates put the future population at 2.1 million.

The new Infrastructure Australia audit identifies the region’s current assets and its potential long-term needs in a bid to develop the north and to encourage greater levels of private sector investment.

The government will work with northern jurisdictions to develop critical infrastructure projects like roads, rail, water, electricity, ports and communications to deliver economic growth and cope with the growing population.

Reforms will also improve infrastructure planning, project appraisal and selection. New funding will be allocated to infrastructure projects that return the highest benefits to communities.

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy