Darwin enjoys cheapest petrol • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 9:04PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:04PM Wed20°
Melbourne9:04PM Wed15°
Brisbane8:04PM Wed24°
Perth6:04PM Wed27°
Adelaide8:34PM Wed
Hobart9:04PM Wed15°
Canberra9:04PM Wed15°
Darwin7:34PM Wed30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Darwin enjoys cheapest petrol

12 August 2015 by News Desk

petrol-pump1The cheapest petrol in Australia is to be found in the city of Darwin in the Northern Territory.

The price of fuel in the city has gone from being the most expensive in the country to the cheapest in less than 12 months. The cost of a litre of petrol – at $1.34 – is 5.7% lower than in any other Australia capital city where the average is $1.40 per litre.

Last year, the price of petrol in Darwin was almost 25 cents higher per litre than could be found in Australia’s largest five cities, according to the Australian Consumer and Competition Commission.

Meanwhile, motorists in Alice Springs have been paying $1.41 per litre, which is lower than prices in Brisbane, Hobart and Canberra.

The price drop is due, in part, to a recent government investigation into fuel prices and more competition in the market.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy