Australia Housing Market • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 7:46PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:46PM Sat14°
Melbourne7:46PM Sat11°
Brisbane7:46PM Sat20°
Perth5:46PM Sat16°
Adelaide7:16PM Sat
Hobart7:46PM Sat
Canberra7:46PM Sat
Darwin7:16PM Sat30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Housing Market

04 June 2020 by News Desk

Australia Housing Market: The number of dwellings approved rose 1.0 per cent in April according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

“The rise in April was driven by both private sector dwellings excluding houses (1.0 per cent) and private sector houses (0.8 per cent),” said Daniel Rossi, Director of Construction Statistics at the ABS.

“These results are consistent with leading indicators in early 2020, prior to the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic restrictions. Building approvals typically lag early indicators of housing demand, such as new home sales and new loan commitments.”

Australia Housing Market

Across the states and territories, dwelling approvals rose in the Australian Capital Territory (13.2 per cent), Northern Territory (10.0 per cent), Tasmania (4.2 per cent), Western Australia (2.3 per cent) and New South Wales (2.0 per cent), in trend terms. Falls were recorded in Victoria (0.7 per cent) and South Australia (0.6 per cent), while Queensland was flat.

Approvals for private sector houses increased in New South Wales (2.2 per cent), Western Australia (0.8 per cent) and Victoria (0.7 per cent). Declines were recorded in South Australia (2.5 per cent) and Queensland (0.5 per cent), in trend terms.

The seasonally adjusted estimate for total dwellings approved fell 1.8 per cent in April, driven by a 8.9 per cent decrease in approvals for private dwellings excluding houses. Private sector houses rose 2.7 per cent.

The value of total building approved fell 0.6 per cent in April, in trend terms, and has fallen for two months. The value of residential building rose 1.3 per cent, while non-residential building declined 3.1 per cent.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy