COVID-19 Family Issues • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 5:53PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:53PM Sun35°
Melbourne5:53PM Sun17°
Brisbane4:53PM Sun28°
Perth2:53PM Sun20°
Adelaide5:23PM Sun
Hobart5:53PM Sun20°
Canberra5:53PM Sun27°
Darwin4:23PM Sun34°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

COVID-19 Family Issues

04 June 2020 by News Desk

COVID-19 Family Issues have been highlighted by the latest report from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Women were almost three times as likely to have stayed at home to look after their children on their own than men (46 per cent* compared with 17 per cent*), according to the fourth ABS Household Impacts of COVID-19 Survey

Many parents made changes to their work arrangements to care for their children, including working from home (38 per cent*), reducing or changing working hours (22 per cent), and taking leave from work (13 per cent).

Three in four Australians (76%) with children in their household had kept them home from school or childcare due to COVID-19.

ABS Program Manager for Household Surveys, Michelle Marquardt, said: “Parents also reported difficulties experienced by their children while learning from home. These included difficulties concentrating (58 per cent*), feeling lonely (49 per cent*) and feelings of anxiety (33 per cent*).

COVID-19 Family Issues

“One in seven parents (15 per cent) said a lack of access to a stable internet connection was impeding their children’s ability to undertake their schooling from home,” added Ms. Marquardt.

The survey also found that one in eight Australian adults (13 per cent) provided unpaid care to a vulnerable person outside their household because of COVID-19. Around three in five people provided this care on at least a weekly basis (61 per cent).

“Family members were the most common recipients of this unpaid care (80 per cent) and shopping was the most common activity for which assistance was provided (80 per cent),” said Ms Marquardt.

“A further 23 per cent* of Australian adults said they needed to increase the level of unpaid care for a vulnerable person within their household because of COVID-19.”

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy