Statehood for Northern Territory • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 10:23PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:23PM Wed20°
Melbourne10:23PM Wed16°
Brisbane9:23PM Wed24°
Perth7:23PM Wed24°
Adelaide9:53PM Wed
Hobart10:23PM Wed15°
Canberra10:23PM Wed13°
Darwin8:53PM Wed29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Statehood for Northern Territory

26 July 2015 by News Desk

darwinThe Northern Territory of Australia is aiming to become a State in its’ own right by 2018.

The plan has the backing of other federal and state leaders from around the country, according to Northern Territory Chief Minister Adam Giles.

With a deep indigenous heritage, many believe the Northern Territory’s new name should acknowledge Australia’s rich Aboriginal history. With most Northern Territory rivers averaging five crocodiles per kilometre, other feel the reptile should represent Australia’s seventh state.

Prime Minister Tony Abbott suggested that the Commonwealth star on the flag may need a seventh point if the Northern Territory gains statehood. But the Commonwealth star, featured on the Australian flag, already has seven points. It has had seven points since 1908 when a new version was introduced to recognise future Australian territories.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy