$1.2bn boost for northern Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 10:41AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:41AM Mon28°
Melbourne10:41AM Mon20°
Brisbane9:41AM Mon28°
Perth7:41AM Mon17°
Adelaide10:11AM Mon20°
Hobart10:41AM Mon21°
Canberra10:41AM Mon25°
Darwin9:11AM Mon29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

$1.2bn boost for northern Australia

18 June 2015 by News Desk

darwinNorthern Australia is to get $1.2 billion in new money in a bid to boost infrastructure, jobs and business.

Prime Minister Tony Abbott this week unveiled a new 20-year plan for the region that also includes new roads and water resources. “If the north does well, our country does well,” Abbott told reporters. “The money will go towards better infrastructure and more efficient and effective land use. It’s directed towards making the north more attractive for people to live and work.”

Over the next four years $700 million will be made available to improve roads in the region. Deputy Prime Minister Warren Truss will deliver an annual statement to parliament on northern development to ensure the plan becomes a “blueprint for a generation of development”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy