Western Australia Study Boost • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 6:34PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:34PM Sat15°
Melbourne6:34PM Sat12°
Brisbane6:34PM Sat22°
Perth4:34PM Sat16°
Adelaide6:04PM Sat
Hobart6:34PM Sat
Canberra6:34PM Sat
Darwin6:04PM Sat31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Western Australia Study Boost

12 July 2020 by News Desk

Western Australia economy is boosted by International students to the tune of $2.1 billion.

International students studying in Western Australia contributed AUD$2.1 billion to the economy in 2019, according to a new report by StudyPerth.

The report suggests that international students directly contributed $549 million to the WA economy in 2019, with a further $1.5 billion boost to the economy indirectly as a result of international student expenditure.

When the contribution of visiting friends and relatives is also included, is it estimated that the 53,404 international students studying in Western Australia contributed $2.1 billion to the WA economy in 2019, the report said.

Based on these results, it is estimated that for every international student enrolled in WA, $39,417 is contributed to the state’s economy.

According to the report, sectors such as retail, finance and insurance, and transport, postal and warehousing saw contributions from international students hit AU$228m, AU$92m and AU$105m respectively, with mining accounting for AU$16.5m in revenue.

Overall, explained the report, WA’s export revenue from international education has increased 51% from its most recent low in 2012-13.

But despite increases in the number of students, the popularity has not grown as quickly as other Australian territories and states.

The report called the 70% increase in student numbers from 2005 to 2019 (for a total of 53,404) “healthy”, but noted it did “not compare favourably against the trends nationally where total international student enrolments rose by 176% over the same period”.

“Between 2005 and 2019, total international student enrolments in Western Australia have increased by 4.2% per annum, which was the lowest annual rate of growth of any state or territory,” the report highlighted.

The StudyPerth report also broke down how much money is generated by source market.

The two largest source markets for WA are India and China, which account for 16.7% and 15.7% of total international student enrolment, respectively.

Malaysia (5.7%), Brazil (4.3%) and Bhutan (4.2%) are the next three largest source markets, according to the report.
The report estimated that international students directly contributed $549 million to the WA economy in 2019, with a further $1.5bn boost to the economy indirectly as a result of the international student expenditure, and broke down expenditure by top source markets.

Various measures have been introduced across the state to assist international students caught in the crossfire of the coronavirus pandemic, including StudyPerth Crisis Relief program and an International Student Meals initiative.

Although a ban has been in place on entering the country over the last few months, the Australian government is keen to begin a pilot program to begin enabling students to return from July onwards.

Are you thinking about studying, living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy