Volcano halts Australia flights • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 12:52AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:52AM Wed18°
Melbourne12:52AM Wed14°
Brisbane11:52PM Tue24°
Perth9:52PM Tue25°
Adelaide12:22AM Wed
Hobart12:52AM Wed10°
Canberra12:52AM Wed14°
Darwin11:22PM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Volcano halts Australia flights

07 November 2015 by News Desk

travel_checkin-signSome flights between Bali and Australia have been cancelled due to a volcanic ash cloud coming from the holiday island.

On Saturday Virgin Australia and Jetstar cancelled their flights between the two countries after they received advice from meteorologists, senior pilots and the Volcanic Ash Advisory Centre, who all reported that flying between the two countries is unsafe.

Virgin Australia said they will update flights due to depart Sunday, 7pm later tonight.

Jetstar cancelled all flights on Saturday morning saying that conditions were still unfavourable for flying. “We were hopeful of operating today however a recent assessment of satellite images at first light in Bali was not positive,” Jetstar said.

Jetstar and Virgin first cancelled their flights in and out of Denpasar airport on Wednesday after volcano Mt Rinjani, on the nearby island of Lombok, erupted sending smoke plumes into the sky.

The Indonesian transport ministry closed its Bali and Lombok airports, on advice from the Volcanic Ash Advisory Centre. Officials say they do not expect the eruption to finish any time soon.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy