Volcano grounds Australia flights • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 6:25PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:25PM Sun26°
Melbourne6:25PM Sun17°
Brisbane5:25PM Sun28°
Perth3:25PM Sun19°
Adelaide5:55PM Sun
Hobart6:25PM Sun19°
Canberra6:25PM Sun26°
Darwin4:55PM Sun31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Volcano grounds Australia flights

05 July 2015 by News Desk

travel-planes01Flights in and out of Darwin, Adelaide, Melbourne, Perth and Cairns were grounded by ash from an Indonesian volcano.

A tourist flight between Darwin and Bali was one of 13 Jetstar flights cancelled due to ash from Mount Raung in Eastern Java that has been erupting for two days.

Flights across Australia were cancelled upon advice from the Darwin Volcanic Ash Advisory Centre, one of nine around the world that monitors all active volcanoes in South-East Asia.

Airlines resumed normal operations after 12 hours, with many having had to book hundreds of stranded passengers on different flights home.

The last major disruption to Darwin flights was in May 2014 when volcanic ash from Mount Sangeang Api grounded flights for several days.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy