Turnbull ‘no’ to Australia honours • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 12:09AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:09AM Sat17°
Melbourne12:09AM Sat14°
Brisbane12:09AM Sat19°
Perth10:09PM Fri15°
Adelaide11:39PM Fri
Hobart12:09AM Sat17°
Canberra12:09AM Sat
Darwin11:39PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Turnbull ‘no’ to Australia honours

22 September 2015 by News Desk

malcolmturnbullMalcolm Turnbull, Australia’s new prime minister, says he will abolish the tradition of awarding Royal honours in Australia.

Turnbull, an ardent republican, is planning to abolish honours such as knighthoods and dame-hoods after the titles were revived by former PM Tony Abbott, who is a staunch monarchist.

The titles were abolished in Australia over 30 years ago but Tony Abbott re-introduced the titles last year. And his first move was to award a knighthood to Prince Philip. The move was controversial and last year sparked the first challenge to Abbott’s leadership of the Liberal Party.

The plan to abolish such titles was one of Turnbull’s first announcements since beating Abbott in the recent leadership challenge. The new Prime Minister will now put his proposal; to the ruling cabinet, which has signalled its’ support.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy