Local:
Sydney: Tue 12:03PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:03PM Tue19°
Melbourne12:03PM Tue15°
Brisbane11:03AM Tue21°
Perth9:03AM Tue15°
Adelaide11:33AM Tue
Hobart12:03PM Tue11°
Canberra12:03PM Tue15°
Darwin10:33AM Tue28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our bookozdirectory

30,000 at Sydney Running Festival

22 September 2015 by News Desk

sport_SydneyMarathonMore than 30,000 athletes and local residents took part in the annual Sydney Running Festival in Australia this year.

The massive road-race saw competitors run from Milsons Point to the Sydney Opera House with runners from around the world, including Kenya, the US and China as well as celebrities, families and corporate entrants taking part, many to raise money for charity.

Japanese runner Hisanori Kitajima won the marathon with a time of 2 hours, 12 minutes and 44 seconds. Mirriam Wangari from Kenya won the marathon women’s division, crossing the finishing line at 2 hours, 24 minutes and 38 seconds.

Australian Paralympian Kurt Fearnley was the first athlete to cross the line in the wheelchair division with a time of 1 hour, 42 minutes and 35 seconds.

The festival featured five courses of different lengths, with the longest being the 42 kilometre marathon, followed by the half marathon, through the CBD and Moore Park area, with competitors finishing at the Sydney Opera House in Circular Quay. The shorter family fun run courses finished at the Royal Botanic Gardens.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy