Local:
Sydney: Fri 1:45PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney1:45PM Fri25°
Melbourne1:45PM Fri28°
Brisbane12:45PM Fri27°
Perth10:45AM Fri34°
Adelaide1:15PM Fri
Hobart1:45PM Fri24°
Canberra1:45PM Fri20°
Darwin12:15PM Fri31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Tourism boom in Australia

19 November 2015 by News Desk

edu_studentsThe number of foreign tourists visiting Australia has increased by 6.6% in the past 12 months.

International visitors spent $33.4 billion during their stay – a 10% rise in spending and the highest expenditure recorded since 2000. Total number of visitors reached over 6.5 million during the year, another record figure.

And visitors from India are now the biggest-spending tourists in Australia with latest figures showing that spending by visitors from India has grown by 39% to reach $1bn for the first time.

Australia’s domestic tourism is at record levels with 83 million overnight trips recorded last year. Overnight visitor expenditure increased 4% to a total of $55.7bn, said federal Tourism Minister Richard Colbeck.

Highlighting the boom in tourism, investment in the industry is rising. During 2014-15, the value of the tourism investment pipeline increased by $4.3bn to $53.7bn, according to Tourism Research Australia’s State of the Industry 2015 report.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy