Local:
Sydney: Mon 3:47PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney3:47PM Mon21°
Melbourne3:47PM Mon26°
Brisbane2:47PM Mon27°
Perth12:47PM Mon29°
Adelaide3:17PM Mon
Hobart3:47PM Mon24°
Canberra3:47PM Mon19°
Darwin2:17PM Mon31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

$100m jobs boost for Victoria

19 November 2015 by News Desk

jobs_tools2Up to 1000 new jobs will be created in Victoria, Australia, thanks to a $100m investment fund set up to boost employment.

The Geelong Region Innovation and Investment Fund is a multi million-dollar scheme by the Australian and Victorian Governments and Ford Australia to support the community after Ford announced it will cease local vehicle production in 2016.

With total project investment of over $100 million, the Fund is already set to create 686 jobs in the Geelong region and now $11.2 million in new funding will create an additional 145 jobs and boost investment by $44 million across the region.

New jobs are already being created. Sports equipment-maker Jeff Sykes & Associates will create 11 new roles for engineers and production staff, while engineering firm Air-Radiators Ltd aims to employ 30 new staff to expand production.

Lily D’Ambrosio, Victorian Minister for Industry, said: “The Geelong region has faced more than its share of challenges but its ability to innovate, create new products and demonstrate its capabilities to the world is evident,” Mr Pyne said.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy