Degas art comes to Melbourne • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 9:49PM
Select Destination
LocationTimeTemp
Sydney9:49PM Thu18°
Melbourne9:49PM Thu13°
Brisbane8:49PM Thu23°
Perth6:49PM Thu17°
Adelaide9:19PM Thu12°
Hobart9:49PM Thu10°
Canberra9:49PM Thu10°
Darwin8:19PM Thu30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Degas art comes to Melbourne

19 November 2015 by News Desk

melbourne_ArtGalleryMore than 200 works by French impressionist master Edgar Degas will go on show at the National Gallery of Victoria in Melbourne in 2016.

The city of Melbourne will play host to the world premiere exhibition, Degas: A New Vision, from 24 June-18 Sept 2016 as part of the 2016 Melbourne Winter Masterpieces series.

Degas: A New Vision will be the 21st exhibition in the series since it was launched in 2004. More than five million people have attended the series, including many interstate and international visitors, bringing more than $380 million into the Victorian economy.

Gavin Jennings, Special Minister of State, said: “It is a significant coup for Melbourne to be the first place in the world to present this ground-breaking exhibition, which casts the international spotlight firmly on our city and the NGV.”

The exhibition will highlight Degas’ career as a ground-breaking painter, illustrator, and printmaker and later, as his eyesight deteriorated, a sculptor and photographer. Degas was renowned as a founder of the impressionist art movement and is best known for his depictions of everyday life in the late 19th century – particularly his ballet scenes.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy