Top baby names in Western Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 11:00PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:00PM Wed20°
Melbourne11:00PM Wed15°
Brisbane10:00PM Wed24°
Perth8:00PM Wed23°
Adelaide10:30PM Wed
Hobart11:00PM Wed15°
Canberra11:00PM Wed12°
Darwin9:30PM Wed29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Top baby names in Western Australia

22 January 2016 by News Desk

family_1Gone are the days of Bruce and Sheila, in Australia today it’s more like Oliver and Olivia.

At least in Western Australia, where the most popular baby names registered at birth in 2015 were indeed Oliver and Olivia followed – for boys by Jack, James, Noah and William and – for girls Ava, Charlotte, Mia and Isla.

It is the second year in a row that Oliver has been most popular boys’ name while Olivia has jumped to the No 1 girls’ name after being fourth most-popular in 2014.

Mason, Lachlan and Ruby are new names that have entered the top 10 list, while names including Lucas, Jacob, Emily and Ella have fallen out of favour, according to the WA Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages.

There are regional differences in the top choice of baby names. The most popular names in Kimberley, Pilbara and Gascoyne are royal-sounding William and Charlotte while in the Wheatbelt and Mid West of WA Jack and Isabelle are most popular.

Most Popular Boys’ Names in W.A.

1 Oliver
2 Jack
3 James
4 Noah
5 William
6 Thomas
7 Ethan
8 Mason
9 Liam
10 Lachlan

Most Popular Girls’ Names in W.A.

1 Olivia
2 Ava
3 Charlotte
4 Mia
5 Isla
6 Sophie
7 Grace
8 Amelia
9 Ruby
10 Chloe



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy