Tasmania Jobs Boost • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 7:47AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:47AM Fri15°
Melbourne7:47AM Fri
Brisbane7:47AM Fri18°
Perth5:47AM Fri14°
Adelaide7:17AM Fri
Hobart7:47AM Fri
Canberra7:47AM Fri
Darwin7:17AM Fri24°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Tasmania Jobs Boost

09 June 2020 by News Desk

Tasmania Jobs Boost: A government incentive to boost the economy of Tasmania will see a massive construction boom in the next couple of years.

The Tasmania government has announced plans to spend $3.1 billion on infrastructure to stimulate its economy over the next two years.

The program of works is designed to immediately stimulate the economy, boost private investment, and give Tasmanian businesses and workers certainty, said Michael Ferguson, Minister for Infrastructure and Transport.

The Tasmanian Government is delivering an aggressive infrastructure program to get even more projects underway in the next six to 12 months in a bid to boost Tasmania jobs

“The new schemes is in addition to projects that are already underway or already brought forward, such as the $40 million ship loader at Burnie Port, which is the most pressing infrastructure need at the port and is fully funded and brought forward by the Australian Government.

“Under the Port Master Plan, TasPorts will invest $80 million at the Port of Burnie to deliver a significant increase in capacity at Tasmania’s primary container port. TasPorts is currently investigating opportunities to increase port capacity and improve productivity of the supply chain for bulk minerals, concentrates, forestry and international cargo.”

Tasmania Jobs Boost

The $12 million in additional funding for the Coastal Pathway project means $12 million for even more engineering and civil contracting jobs in the region. This is more than just fast-tracking a project, as Labor dishonestly says. It is a rescue package of entirely new funds to support the Waratah-Wynyard and Burnie Councils on this local project, which has suffered due to recent coastal erosion and identified future erosion risk.

The Government has already funded both the redevelopment of Cradle Mountain – with $86.8 million of State and Federal funding locked in – and Tasmania’s next iconic multi-day, multi-hut walking experience, with $20 million committed and the site currently subject to detailed feasibility and planning.

“Our construction blitz over the next two years will support around 15,000 jobs, and is vital as we recover from the COVID-19 pandemic”, said Michael Ferguson

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy