Online Retail Boost • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 11:14PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:14PM Tue19°
Melbourne11:14PM Tue12°
Brisbane11:14PM Tue23°
Perth9:14PM Tue14°
Adelaide10:44PM Tue
Hobart11:14PM Tue12°
Canberra11:14PM Tue11°
Darwin10:44PM Tue28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Online Retail Boost

09 June 2020 by News Desk

Online Retail sales across Australia rose to $2,703m in April making up 11.1% of total retail sales.

The figures show an almost 5% increase in online retail purchases during the month.

In March 2020, online retailing made up 7.1% of total retail sales.

In original terms, online sales rose 26.4% in April, following a rise of 23.5% in March 2020. Rises were seen in the online sales of both pure-play and multi channel retailers.

Online Retail Boost

The proportion of total sales made online rose moderately in Food industries, from 3.1% in March to 4.1% in April.
The rise was much larger in Non-food industries, which rose from 13.0% in March to 20.5% in April.

Sales of hardware, building and garden supplies increased by 6.6%.

This likely reflects the impacts of regulations regarding social distancing impacting the ability of physical stores to trade during April.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy