Sydney host World Cup qualifier • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 12:00AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:00AM Mon16°
Melbourne12:00AM Mon13°
Brisbane12:00AM Mon19°
Perth10:00PM Sun14°
Adelaide11:30PM Sun
Hobart12:00AM Mon15°
Canberra12:00AM Mon
Darwin11:30PM Sun25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Sydney host World Cup qualifier

21 January 2016 by News Desk

sport_socceroos1Sydney will play host to Australia’s bid to remain in the 2018 World Cup.

Australian national team The Socceroos will take on Jordan at the Allianz Stadium in Sydney on 29 March in a must-win game to decide which country will go forward to the next stage of World Cup Qualifying as group winners.

The Socceroos are currently ahead of Jordan by two points at the top of Group B. And they are due to play another fixture, against Tajikistan at Adelaide Ovalide, on March 24. The match against Jordan at Allianz Stadium will ultimately decide which country progresses to the next stage of qualifying.

“It’s a very important game, an opportunity for us to finish this first phase strongly. We’re on top of the group and we want to stay there,” said Socceroos Head Coach Ange Postecoglou.

The match at Allianz Stadium is the first time the Socceroos have played in Sydney during their 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign.

The NSW Government is greatly responsible for the World Cup event being played in Sydney as part of its commitment to bring major events to NSW.

Stuart Ayres, Minister for Sport, said: “Sydney has seen many famous Socceroos victories over the years, and I look forward to seeing another one against Jordan in March.”

A family ticket costs $90. Kids go free with two paying adults. Tickets for the 29 March match are on sale now FFA Football Family members and General tickets are available on Friday 22 January from 11am



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy