Oops! Sorry Tasmania • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:48PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:48PM Fri17°
Melbourne11:48PM Fri12°
Brisbane11:48PM Fri20°
Perth9:48PM Fri16°
Adelaide11:18PM Fri
Hobart11:48PM Fri17°
Canberra11:48PM Fri10°
Darwin11:18PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Oops! Sorry Tasmania

21 January 2016 by News Desk

australia-hatA store chain has been left red-faced after it was found selling hats that feature a map of Australia – without Tasmania.

The hats – a product to celebrate Australia Day on Jan 26 – were being sold in store chain Woolworths but eagle-eyed Aussies have been quick to point out the glaring mistake. And residents of Tasmania – the island state south of Victoria – are not pleased.

Tasmanians on social media were quick to express their feelings, including “disgust”. Some threatened to take their business elsewhere. Others are not taking it seriously. ‘Keep on keeping Australia’s best kept secret a secret,’ said one Facebook user.

Woolworths, who say an Australian-based company supplied the hats, has now been forced to remove the items from store shelves.

Unfortunately, it is not the first time Tasmania has been overlooked by Australian officials. During the Opening Ceremony of the 1982 Commonwealth Games, thousands of performers created a map of Australia -but forgot to include Tasmania.

At the 2014 Commonwealth Games, pictures of animals obscured Tasmania from on swimsuits used by Australian competitors – an error described by Tasmanian Premier Will Hodgman as “unforgivable” and “un-Australian”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy