Sydney - Hobart Yacht race • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:01PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:01PM Fri17°
Melbourne11:01PM Fri12°
Brisbane11:01PM Fri20°
Perth9:01PM Fri16°
Adelaide10:31PM Fri
Hobart11:01PM Fri17°
Canberra11:01PM Fri10°
Darwin10:31PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Sydney – Hobart Yacht race

25 July 2015 by News Desk

sport_sailing-boatAlmost 120 entries have been received for the annual Rolex Sydney-to-Hobart Yacht race to be staged by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia.

Due to the large number and sheer size of some yachts, there will be three start lines this year. The last time numbers topped 100 was in 2004, when 116 boats started, although just 59 finished. Five super maxis, 10 international entries, previous overall and line honours winners, old timers, record breaking boats and people.

Last year’s entries went beyond expectation; this year has exceeded them again. “We could not be happier with the quality and quantity of this years’ Rolex Sydney Hobart fleet. It’s such a high standard and represents a good cross section of yachts from all over Australia as well as 10 international entries,” CYCA Commodore, John Cameron said.

“We are also extremely pleased to see 36 entries for our inaugural Corinthian Division; it will provide another dimension to our great race and is open to all yachts meeting the Corinthian amateur standard.

Starting at 1.00pm AEDT Boxing Day, December 26 on Sydney Harbour, the fleet will set sail from three start lines off Nielsen Park. The largest yachts will start off the front line and the fleet will round a mark outside the Harbour one nautical mile east of the Heads before heading to Tasmania, where the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania finishes the race.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy