Study in Australia: Re-Start in July • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 5:56PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:56PM Sat15°
Melbourne5:56PM Sat12°
Brisbane5:56PM Sat22°
Perth3:56PM Sat16°
Adelaide5:26PM Sat
Hobart5:56PM Sat
Canberra5:56PM Sat
Darwin5:26PM Sat31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Study in Australia: Re-Start in July

16 June 2020 by News Desk

Study in Australia has been disrupted by COVID-19 but international students could return in July to resume their studies.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison says he wants to see students returning for semester two under ‘very controlled’ processes agreed between states and institutions.

States that may have border restrictions still in place in July would not be allowed to take part.

“This is something we would all welcome but it has to be done with the appropriate quarantine entry arrangements and bio security,” the Prime Minister said.

Disagreements between states about how and when to re-open internal state borders could slow down the resumption of students returning.

“If someone can’t come to your state from Sydney, then someone can’t come to your state from Singapore,” Scott Morrison said. “If you want to open up borders for international students, then you have to open up borders for Australians.”

Study in Australia to resume in July

Pilot programs are set to begin in July. Universities, education providers and state governments plan to establish “secure corridors” that would allow a small number of international students to return this year ahead of large-scale arrivals next year.

Australia is keen to allow international students to resume or begin studies as it’s a multi-billion dollar a year industry that supports 250,000 full-time jobs.

The Department of Education, Skills and Employment said that tens of thousands of international students had put their studies in Australia on hold because of the COVID-19 crisis. There were 20,682 deferments in March and 22,277 in April, compared to 3750 and 3138 in the same months last year.

In 2019, China was the largest source of international students and visitors. Educational exports are an important contributor to the Australian economy.

Of all arrivals to Australia travelling on an international student visa in April 2020, there were nearly 30, which was a decrease of 44,470 students, compared to the same month in the previous year. This was close to a 100% decrease.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy