Australia Jobs Bounce Back • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 3:19AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney3:19AM Fri14°
Melbourne3:19AM Fri
Brisbane3:19AM Fri16°
Perth1:19AM Fri18°
Adelaide2:49AM Fri
Hobart3:19AM Fri
Canberra3:19AM Fri
Darwin2:49AM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Jobs Bounce Back

17 June 2020 by News Desk

Australia Jobs climate has improved with total payroll jobs increasing through May, according to the latest weekly payroll figures from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Head of Labour Statistics at the ABS, Bjorn Jarvis, said: “The latest data showed that the total payroll job losses since mid-March were greatest in the week ending 18 April (8.9 per cent) and had recovered to a 7.5 per cent loss by the end of May.”

Payroll jobs worked by females increased by 1.4 per cent through May, compared with 0.4 per cent for males. However, total female job losses since mid-March were still greater (8.0 per cent, compared to 6.3 per cent for males).

Australia Jobs Impacted

Some of the industries most heavily impacted by COVID-19 showed slight recovery in payroll jobs through May.
“Payroll jobs in the Accommodation and food services industry increased by 5.0 per cent through May, but remained 29.1 per lower than in mid-March,” Mr Jarvis said.

Analysis showed jobs worked by multiple job holders were heavily over-represented in job losses. Around 29.0% of jobs lost since mid-March were previously worked by people as a secondary job. JobKeeper support can be sought for only one job for each eligible employee.

“Looking at the week-to-week changes, there was a 0.4 per cent increase in the number of payroll jobs in the week ending 30 May, following no change recorded in the week ending 23 May (0.0%),” Mr Jarvis said.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy