Australia Stays at Home • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 8:08PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:08PM Sat14°
Melbourne8:08PM Sat11°
Brisbane8:08PM Sat19°
Perth6:08PM Sat16°
Adelaide7:38PM Sat
Hobart8:08PM Sat
Canberra8:08PM Sat
Darwin7:38PM Sat29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Stays at Home

16 June 2020 by News Desk

Australia has recorded its largest ever decrease in overseas travel with the number of Australians returning home after a short-term trip down 98.1 per cent on the same time last year

Overseas visitor arrivals to Australia decreased 99.3% since the previous month to 2,200 trips, the largest monthly decrease on record, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Australian resident returns from overseas decreased 96.8% since the previous month to 17,000 trips, also the largest monthly decrease on record.

Australia Stays at Home

With few Australians leaving the country, these decreases, on the back of record falls in March, continue to show the effects of travel restrictions put in place by the Australian government in response to COVID-19.

ABS Director of Migration Statistics Jenny Dobak said 17,000 Australians returned home in April 2020 compared with 916,400 one year earlier.

“Short-term visitor arrivals also fell to 2,200 trips, a 99.7 per cent decrease from the 700,400 recorded in April 2019,” Ms Dobak said.

For residents returning home after a short-term trip, there were decreases of more than 97 per cent across all states and territories.

The state with the largest volume of residents returning was New South Wales with 5,700 trips, however, this was considerably smaller than the 310,700 recorded one year ago.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy