Travel to Australia: Record Numbers • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 5:26PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:26PM Sat16°
Melbourne5:26PM Sat12°
Brisbane5:26PM Sat24°
Perth3:26PM Sat16°
Adelaide4:56PM Sat
Hobart5:26PM Sat
Canberra5:26PM Sat10°
Darwin4:56PM Sat32°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Travel to Australia: Record Numbers

15 June 2020 by News Desk

Travel to Australia saw record numbers of visitors arriving down under last year.

There were 9.5 million visitor arrivals, the highest year on record and the most popular destination was New South Wales.

China was the largest source country with over 1.4 million visitors nationally, largest source for NSW, Vic, SA, Tas. and the ACT

There were more visits by women than men.

The main reason for travel was holiday (47%)

Nationally, the median duration of stay in Australia was 10 days.

The proportion of short-term visitor arrivals by intended state or territory in 2019, were as follows:

· NSW (37% of all short-term visitors)
· Vic. (27%)
· Qld (21%)
· SA (3%)
· WA (9%)
· Tas. (1.0%)
· NT (0.8%)
· ACT (1.2%).

Short-term visitor arrivals

The record annual 9.5 million visitors in 2019 was 3.9 million more than 10 years earlier and 220,300 more than 1 year ago. There has generally been an ongoing increase of visitor arrivals to Australia over recent decades.

Peaks were seen during Brisbane Expo in 1988 and the Sydney Olympics in 2000

Decreases were experienced during the Asian financial crisis from 1998, the Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) outbreak in 2003 and the Global Financial Crisis (GFC) in 2008.

Source countries

Residents from nearly every country around the world visited Australia in 2019. China (1.44 million) remained the largest source country for visitor arrivals with New Zealand (1.43 million) in second place.

This reflects strong growth in the number of Chinese visitors over the decade, with a 297% increase since 2009. However, this growth has slowed more recently (0.46% from 2018 to 2019) and is likely to decrease in early 2020 due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy