Study in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 12:00AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:00AM Sat17°
Melbourne12:00AM Sat14°
Brisbane12:00AM Sat19°
Perth10:00PM Fri15°
Adelaide11:30PM Fri
Hobart12:00AM Sat17°
Canberra12:00AM Sat
Darwin11:30PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Study in Australia

25 December 2015 by News Desk

edu_OpenUniversityAustraliaAustralia offers a diverse range of study options for international students, with more than 1,200 institutions and over 22,000 courses to choose from.

You can study at all levels of education from primary and secondary school, to vocational education and training (VET), from English language courses to higher education (including universities). And regardless of what you are studying or how long you are studying for, Australia’s laws promote quality education and protection for international students.

This includes the Education Services for Overseas Students (ESOS) Act 2000 and the National Code of Practice for Registration Authorities and Providers of Education and Training to Overseas Students 2007 (National Code). These provide nationally consistent standards for providers of education and training for international students.

As an international student on a student visa, you must study with an institution and in a course that is registered on the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS).

CRICOS registration guarantees that the course and the institution at which you study meet the high standards expected by international students. You can search for courses and institutions here on the Study in Australia website.
Along with the ESOS Act and National Code, there are also regulatory and quality assurance organisations for higher education and VET institutions.

These government organisations are responsible for registration/re-registration of institutions and accreditation/re-accreditation of courses. These organisations are:

Higher education – Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)

VET – Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA)

To study in Australia you’ll need to apply for both admission to an institution and also for a student visa from the Australian Government.
There are a number of steps you must go through including:
Deciding on your preferred course and institution.
Submitting your application to the institution.
Receiving and accepting a Letter of Offer.
Receiving your electronic Confirmation of Enrolment (eCoE).
Applying for your student visa.

There is a range of entry requirements that you will need to meet both for you institution application and your visa application. This can include:
Academic requirements.
English language requirements.
Evidence of funds to support your study.
Overseas student health cover.

If you’re already living or working in Australia, you may still be able to apply to study here as an international student.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy