Study in Australia: Brisbane student housing • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 5:10AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:10AM Mon22°
Melbourne5:10AM Mon16°
Brisbane4:10AM Mon21°
Perth2:10AM Mon18°
Adelaide4:40AM Mon17°
Hobart5:10AM Mon16°
Canberra5:10AM Mon11°
Darwin3:40AM Mon29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Study in Australia: Brisbane student housing

19 November 2016 by News Desk

Study in Australia where thousands of new student beds are being added to Brisbane’s housing stock.

Study in AustraliaStudy in Australia: International education is Brisbane’s biggest export but there has been a lack of purpose-built, high quality student accommodation in the city.

The shortage of accommodation has meant overseas students have been forced to seek housing in the city suburbs, some distance from university or college facilities.

Now Brisbane is to get a range of new purpose-built student housing developments that will accommodate around 9,000 students.

The latest development, at Charlotte Street in the city, even includes a karaoke room. The project has added to the 7500 student accommodation beds approved so far, with 1851 beds and 13 applications still being considered by city councillors.

Study in Australia: Brisbane student housing

The new Charlotte Street project will have 954 beds across 626 apartment suites. It will also feature 478 bicycle parking stations, a gym, pool tables, study areas and karaoke rooms.

Recent student accommodation approvals in Brisbane include:

84 O’Keefe Street – 1057 beds
163 Charlotte Street – 954 beds
97 Elizabeth Street – 948 beds
190 Vulture Street – 850 beds
53 Tribune Street – 787 beds
38 Wharf Street – 753 beds
363 Adelaide Street – 691 beds
116 Merivale Street – 653 beds

The increase in student accommodation is the result of the city council reducing development charges from $8000 to $2000 for a one or two bedroom student suite.

75,000 international students enrol each year at educational facilities in Brisbane and they generate around $4 billion for the local economy each year.

Want to study in Ausyralia? Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy