Migrate to Australia: NSW tops growth league • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 2:11AM
Select Destination
LocationTimeTemp
Sydney2:11AM Wed11°
Melbourne2:11AM Wed11°
Brisbane2:11AM Wed12°
Perth12:11AM Wed
Adelaide1:41AM Wed12°
Hobart2:11AM Wed11°
Canberra2:11AM Wed
Darwin1:41AM Wed22°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Migrate to Australia: NSW tops growth league

19 November 2016 by News Desk

Migrate to Australia where New South Wales grew faster than at any time since the Sydney Olympics.

Migrate to AustraliaMigrate to Australia: The NSW economy grew by 3.5 per cent in the year to June 30, the best rate of expansion since 2000, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

The record level of growth was fuelled by Sydney’s construction and financial services industries. Construction in NSW grew by almost 11 cent last year while the financial services sector recorded growth of almost 5 per cent.

The results underscored the economic strength of Australia’s two biggest states compared with the rest of Australia.

Victoria grew by 3.3 per cent in 2015-16, its best performance in eight years, its growth also fuelled by construction and financial services.

Migrate to Australia: NSW tops growth league

Growth in both NSW and Victoria was well above the national average.

Other states have not been growing quite so fast.

The Western Australian economy has slowed and grew by 1.9 per cent last year. Over the past decade growth in WA has been at an average of 5 per cent per annum.

Economic growth has been weakest in Tasmania at 1.3 per cent.

NSW Treasurer Gladys Berejiklian said the official state growth figures were historic.

“Not only is the NSW economy experiencing the strongest growth since the Sydney Olympics, this is the first time in 25 years we have been number one among the states for overall economic growth.

NSW’s economic growth has been driven by an increase in exports with services exports, including education and tourism, growing by 12.5 per cent in the past year.

Gross State Product in NSW reached $531.32 billion in the past 12 months, increasing by almost $18 billion compared to 2014.

Want to Migrate to Australia? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy