Retail Sales Rise 16.9% • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:13AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:13AM Tue14°
Melbourne7:13AM Tue
Brisbane7:13AM Tue15°
Perth5:13AM Tue10°
Adelaide6:43AM Tue
Hobart7:13AM Tue
Canberra7:13AM Tue
Darwin6:43AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Retail Sales Rise 16.9%

03 July 2020 by News Desk

Australia retail turnover rose 16.9 per cent in May 2020 according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics Retail Trade figures.

“The gradual easing of social distancing regulations, and the re-opening of physical stores, bolstered retail trade in May,” said Ben James, Director of Quarterly Economy Wide Surveys.

“Retailers across a range of industries reported high numbers of consumers returning to stores across Australia, with some retailers noting levels similar to those seen in December.”

There were large month-on-month rises in clothing, footwear and personal accessory retailing (129.2 per cent), and cafes, restaurants and takeaway food services (30.3 per cent), with both industries coming off very low levels of trade in April. Levels in these industries remain well below the same time last year.

Food retailing (7.2 per cent), household goods retailing (16.6 per cent), department stores (44.4 per cent) and other retailing (9.4 per cent) all recorded month-on-month rises in seasonally adjusted terms and are now at levels well above the same time last year. Retailers reported themes of continued spend on home improvements and high demand for recreational goods.

In seasonally adjusted terms the results were broadly consistent across the states.

There were rises in New South Wales (16.5 per cent), Victoria (17.2 per cent), Queensland (16.6 per cent), Western Australia (19.7 per cent), South Australia (16.1 per cent), Tasmania (17.3 per cent), the Australian Capital Territory (12.2 per cent), and the Northern Territory (8.1 per cent), in May 2020.

Online sales contributed 10.1 per cent to total retail turnover, down on the 11.1 per cent contributed in April 2020, as physical stores reopened. This is still four percentage points higher than the 6.2 per cent seen in May 2019.

Department stores (44.4%) and Other retailing (9.4%).

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy