Rental costs fall in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:59PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:59PM Thu19°
Melbourne10:59PM Thu13°
Brisbane10:59PM Thu18°
Perth8:59PM Thu16°
Adelaide10:29PM Thu
Hobart10:59PM Thu14°
Canberra10:59PM Thu15°
Darwin10:29PM Thu25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Rental costs fall in Australia

09 October 2015 by News Desk

economy_graph2The cost of renting a house or apartment in Australia has fallen by almost 9% in the past 12 months.

A huge increase in the number of residential properties – especially units (apartments) – that have come onto the market over the past couple of years has created an over-supply of properties and forced landlords to reduce rents in many major cities.

In Perth, rents are at a three year low and the number of empty properties is increasing. Darwin is another city where there has been a marked fall in the cost of renting a property.

In the past three months the cost of renting a house has fallen by 2.3%, and by 6.7% over the past year. Cost of renting a unit has dropped by 4% in the past three months and by 8.9% since 2014, according to the latest report from property specialist Domain.

Average rents in Australia

Darwin – $590
Sydney – $530
Perth – $420
Brisbane – $400
Melbourne – $390
Adelaide – $350
Hobart – $330



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy