Post-study work visas extended • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 5:44PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:44PM Fri16°
Melbourne5:44PM Fri16°
Brisbane5:44PM Fri21°
Perth3:44PM Fri17°
Adelaide5:14PM Fri
Hobart5:44PM Fri13°
Canberra5:44PM Fri12°
Darwin5:14PM Fri29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Post-study work visas extended

11 July 2020 by News Desk

Australia post-study work visas – The Australian government is expected to relax its rules around post-study work visas for international students impacted by Covid-19.

The Australian education sector has been lobbying for months for this and other changes to help stem what is forecast to be a $16 billion downturn over the next three years.

Currently, only overseas students who complete their studies within Australia are eligible for the visas which allow them to remain in the country for work for two years after graduation, however, the government is expected to announce that international students stranded overseas because of Covid-19 will still be granted work rights.

It is hoped the work visa changes will allow Australian universities to be more competitive with institutions in Canada in the UK which are expected to welcome large numbers of international students to arrive in time for start of the northern hemisphere academic year.

In June, the UK confirmed international students will remain eligible for post-study work rights upon graduation if they begin or continue their studies online in the 2020/21 academic year.

Canada announced “flexible” post-graduation work permit rules for international students studying at a distance.

Another measure being proposed is reductions or removal of visa renewal fees for students who have had to extend their stay in Australia due to being unable to return home.

Australia post-study work visas

Federal minister for Education Dan Tehan said the government is “guided by the principle that students should not be disadvantaged by the impacts of Covid-19”.

“International students are important to Australia and we want to ensure we remain a preferred international study destination,” he said.

“We are working closely with universities to try and limit the impacts of Covid-19 on international students who are in Australia and those who can’t travel because our international borders are closed.”

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy