New Loans at Record High • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 6:17PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:17PM Sat15°
Melbourne6:17PM Sat12°
Brisbane6:17PM Sat22°
Perth4:17PM Sat16°
Adelaide5:47PM Sat
Hobart6:17PM Sat
Canberra6:17PM Sat
Darwin5:47PM Sat31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

New Loans at Record High

09 July 2020 by News Desk

Australia has seen a big rise in homeowners re-financing their mortgages and car finance loans.

“The value of existing owner occupier loans refinanced with a different bank was by far the highest on record as borrowers responded to reduced interest rates and refinancing offers”, said ABS Chief Economist, Bruce Hockman.

The value of new loan commitments for fixed term personal finance rose 14.5 per cent in May.

“The rise in the value of new loan commitments for fixed term personal finance was driven by a partial rebound in the value of new loan commitments for road vehicles”, Mr Hockman said.

Australia housing loans

The value of new loan commitments for housing fell by 11.6% in May according to the latest Australian Bureau of Statistics.

The fall was driven by falls in the value of loan commitments for housing in New South Wales and Victoria.

The value of new loan commitments for owner occupier housing fell 10.2 per cent, while investor housing fell 15.6 per cent. The number of owner occupier first home buyer loan commitments fell 9.3 per cent.

Are you thinking about property in Australia – for work, for migration or for investment purposes?

We have a team of local experts who cover all aspects of renting and buying property, including specialist mortgage advisors and licensed estate agents. Find out more at: https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/property

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy