Old houses beat new in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 2:31AM
Select Destination
LocationTimeTemp
Sydney2:31AM Sun15°
Melbourne2:31AM Sun10°
Brisbane1:31AM Sun19°
Perth11:31PM Sat20°
Adelaide2:01AM Sun
Hobart2:31AM Sun10°
Canberra2:31AM Sun
Darwin1:01AM Sun29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Old houses beat new in Australia

22 December 2015 by News Desk

property_house20Older-style houses in Australia have risen faster in value than newer homes, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Older (Established) house prices rose by +2.2% in the third quarter of 2015 to be 11.4% higher over the past 12 months, while attached dwellings rose by 1.4% to be 8.7 % higher over the year. Over the past 12 years established house prices have been rising by an average 5.6% per year, compared to attached dwellings which have been increasing in value at 4.8% per year.

The biggest growth in value over the past year have been established houses in Sydney – rising by 21.9% – and attached dwellings in Sydney, which have risen by 15.8%.

Established house prices in Melbourne have risen by 11.5% in 2015, while average attached dwellings in Melbourne have increased in value by 4.5%.

Average property prices in Brisbane have increased by 3.8%, in Canberra by 4%, Adelaide by 3.5% and Hobart by 1.7%. Darwin, meanwhile, has seen a 2% fall in house prices.

Over the past three years the total value of housing stock in Australia has risen by $1.42 trillion. Total value of all homes in Australia is now $5.86 trillion.

The vast majority (90%) of these increases have been driven by housing markets in New South Wales which has increased by $756 billion, Victoria ($390 billion) and Queensland ($131 billion). Remaining states and territories account for the remaining $141 billion increase.

Over the past three years average house prices have increased in New South Wales – rising by $236,000 – and in Victoria by $133,000.

Australia has witnessed a major housing boom in recent years with hundreds of thousands of new homes coming onto the market.

Over the past four years, the Australian Capital Territory has seen a 10.9% rise in the number of new homes and the Northern Territory has seen an increase of 10.1%. Western Australia has seen a rise of 8.6% in the number of new homes and Victoria has seen a 7.9% rise. The number of homes in New South Wales has increased by 4.4% over the past four years, according to the ABS Residential Property Price Index.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy