Local:
Sydney: Mon 4:56PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney4:56PM Mon21°
Melbourne4:56PM Mon27°
Brisbane3:56PM Mon26°
Perth1:56PM Mon31°
Adelaide4:26PM Mon
Hobart4:56PM Mon22°
Canberra4:56PM Mon18°
Darwin3:26PM Mon32°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Canberra named Best Student City

22 December 2015 by News Desk

edu_library2Canberra in Australia has been named as one of the top 20 best student cities in the world.

Canberra is placed at 17 in the Top 20, ahead of other major Australian cities including Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth and the Gold Coast, according to the QS Best Student Cities 2016 index.

Already named as the world’s most liveable city by the OECD, this outstanding achievement highlights Canberra’s credentials as Australia’s university town. Canberra entered the QS Best Student Cities index for the first time just three years ago and has steadily advanced up the rankings each year.

This is the first time Canberra has moved into the top 20, a significant achievement helped by the continuing improvement in the QS World University Rankings by the Australian National University and the University of Canberra.

According to QS, 18 criteria are used to create the index, including details of the city’s universities, student population and costs, as well as lifestyle and wellbeing indicators such as The Economist’s Safe Cities Index and Numbeo’s Pollution Index.

The QS Best Student Cities index aims to provide a comprehensive overview of how well each city meets the range of criteria considered by prospective international students and their families – universities, lifestyle, student community, employment prospects, and associated costs.

With ANU placing among the top 20 institutions worldwide and the University of Canberra in the top five percent, and ranked in the top 100 universities under 50 years old, Canberra continues to gain international recognition.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy