Migration to Australia 2015 • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 12:01AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:01AM Sat17°
Melbourne12:01AM Sat14°
Brisbane12:01AM Sat19°
Perth10:01PM Fri15°
Adelaide11:31PM Fri
Hobart12:01AM Sat17°
Canberra12:01AM Sat
Darwin11:31PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Migration to Australia 2015

10 November 2015 by News Desk

passport1More than 280,000 people decided to migrate to Australia in 2015, the lowest number of new arrivals since 2007.

A total of 282,400 people chose to make Australia their new home this year via permanent long-term migration. Net immigration into Australia is now driven by non-European migrants, according to latest figures from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Settlers from India and China have increased to the highest level on record while migration from New Zealand and Europe has slowed. And while Australia’s population has grown by 1.4%, employment growth is at 2%, according to latest figures from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

And it’s not just migrants that are coming to Australia. A record 7.25 million tourists visited Australia over the past year, an increase of over 450,000 compared to 2014.

Official figures show that 2016 will see a record number of Student Visas being granted, driven by a big rise in students from China.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy