Melbourne sees record growth • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 12:16PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:16PM Thu23°
Melbourne12:16PM Thu16°
Brisbane12:16PM Thu26°
Perth10:16AM Thu20°
Adelaide11:46AM Thu
Hobart12:16PM Thu16°
Canberra12:16PM Thu16°
Darwin11:46AM Thu31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Melbourne sees record growth

31 March 2016 by News Desk

Melbourne’s population grew by 2.1 per cent in 2014-15, down slightly from 2.2 per cent last year, but still higher than the next-fastest growing capital, Darwin (1.9 per cent).

MelbourneThe population of Melbourne increased by 91,600 in 2014-15, an average of 1,760 people per week. Sydney had the next biggest increase (83,300), followed by Brisbane (35,200) and Perth (31,100).

Melbourne growth rate of 2.1 per cent is down from 2.2 per cent last year but is still the fastest in Australia, ahead of Darwin (1.9 per cent), Sydney (1.7 per cent), Perth and Brisbane (both 1.6 per cent).

Seven out of the country’s top ten growth areas were in Greater Melbourne, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics. Melbourne’s outer suburbs had some of the largest growth in Australia.

Cranbourne East in Melbourne’s outer south-east increased by 4,600 people in 2014-15, the largest growth of any area in Australia. The outer northern areas of South Morang (up by 4,200 people) and Epping (3,300) came in second and third respectively, whilst Point Cook (3,200) in Melbourne’s outer west ranked fourth nationally.

Cranbourne East also had the fastest growth in the state (and the second-fastest nationally), increasing by 32 per cent in 2014-15.

In addition to the growth areas on the outer suburban fringes, large population increases were also seen in the inner-city area of Melbourne (up by 2,600 people) and nearby Southbank (1,300). Docklands was the fastest-growing inner city area, up 8.3 per cent in 2014-15.

Outside of Melbourne, areas with the largest growth in 2014-15 were Grovedale (up by 1000 people) in Geelong and Ocean Grove – Barwon Heads (700) on the Surf Coast.

Click here for info on travel visas: Travel visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Down Under



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy