Melbourne offers ‘cheapest’ land • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:31AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:31AM Fri13°
Melbourne9:31AM Fri14°
Brisbane9:31AM Fri18°
Perth7:31AM Fri16°
Adelaide9:01AM Fri
Hobart9:31AM Fri12°
Canberra9:31AM Fri
Darwin9:01AM Fri27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Melbourne offers ‘cheapest’ land

12 November 2015 by News Desk

melbourne09The price of land around Melbourne is the most affordable in the whole of Australia.

The average price of a block of land on the outskirts of Melbourne is $211,000 – lower than the peak prices five years ago. The average cost for such land in Melbourne is $250,000 cheaper than Sydney, $50,000 less than south east Queensland and $40,000 lower than in Perth.

Around 40% of all sales of green field land across the country occur in Melbourne, where 150 estates are currently offering land for sale, according to a new report by the National Land Survey Program.

Entire new communities are now being developed around Melbourne including Woodlea Estate at Rockbank – Australia’s second fastest-growing community. Situated 29km from the centre of Melbourne, the new development will have a town centre with public square, supermarket, community services, bus terminal, walking and cycle paths and sporting ¬facilities.

70% of Melbourne land sales are currently being made to first-time buyers. The average size of a housing plot in Melbourne is 428sq m, compared to 500sq m in Sydney, 490sq m in south east Queensland and 400sq m in Perth.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy