Melbourne homes rise 6.1% • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 8:33AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:33AM Fri10°
Melbourne8:33AM Fri13°
Brisbane8:33AM Fri15°
Perth6:33AM Fri17°
Adelaide8:03AM Fri
Hobart8:33AM Fri12°
Canberra8:33AM Fri
Darwin8:03AM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Melbourne homes rise 6.1%

21 August 2015 by News Desk

property_house20Rising house prices in Melbourne are being driven by demand for detached properties.

The city is now seeing faster house price growth, at 6.1%, than Sydney. And most of that growth has come in the past three months.

The cost of buying a house in Melbourne has risen by 12.3% over the past year compared with a 4.8% rise in the price of units (apartments).

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “House prices have been driven upwards by demand for older detached properties and a big rise in the cost of vacant land. The price of units is not rising quite so fast due to the high number of newly-built units that are coming onto the market”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy