Fewer homes sold in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:02PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:02PM Fri19°
Melbourne9:02PM Fri14°
Brisbane9:02PM Fri22°
Perth7:02PM Fri18°
Adelaide8:32PM Fri
Hobart9:02PM Fri18°
Canberra9:02PM Fri12°
Darwin8:32PM Fri28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Fewer homes sold in Australia

21 August 2015 by News Desk

property_forsale2The number of residential properties listed for sale in Australia has fallen by almost 2% in the past year.

Across major cities there is now 1.8% fewer homes for sale today compared to this time last year. Total housing stock across Melbourne, Hobart, Canberra and Sydney has fallen by 8% over the past 12 months. Housing supply in Perth and Darwin is almost 22% higher, resulting in lower asking prices.

The number of rental properties available in New South Wales fell 0.2% to 1.9% in July. Inner Sydney has seen a 0.5% fall to 2.1%, Middle Sydney has dropped 0.2% to 1.7% while Outer Sydney has fallen 0.1% to 1.6%.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “Given the overall rise in economic activity it is a surprise to see a slowdown in homes coming onto the market – especially when there is so much new property construction across major cities. I guess people are buying property but not selling”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy