Canberra sets new world record • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 11:09PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:09PM Wed20°
Melbourne11:09PM Wed15°
Brisbane10:09PM Wed24°
Perth8:09PM Wed23°
Adelaide10:39PM Wed
Hobart11:09PM Wed15°
Canberra11:09PM Wed12°
Darwin9:39PM Wed29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Canberra sets new world record

22 August 2015 by News Desk

edu_binocularsAmateur astronomers in Canberra have smashed a world record for star-gazing.

A group of enthusiasts gathered at the Australian National University to observe the night sky, simultaneously, with telescopes and binoculars. The group of more than 1800 people set about their task to set a world record for the largest amount of people looking up at the night sky at the same time.

The record attempt started badly as the city of Canberra was covered in cloud but conditions soon improved.

“The clouds parted long enough for us to see the stars and moon and set a new record – 1,869 stargazers,” said Brad Tucker from the ANU’s School of Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Prior to this attempt, the ANU’s Guinness World Record stood at 640 people.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy