Melbourne culture attracts 5 million • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:43AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:43AM Tue17°
Melbourne7:43AM Tue
Brisbane6:43AM Tue20°
Perth4:43AM Tue16°
Adelaide7:13AM Tue
Hobart7:43AM Tue
Canberra7:43AM Tue11°
Darwin6:13AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Melbourne culture attracts 5 million

08 August 2016 by News Desk

Melbourne culture has attracted over 3 million people to exhibitions at the National Gallery of Victoria and Australian Centre for the Moving Image.

Melbourne cultureMelbourne culture is a key foundation of the city, one of the oldest settlements in Australia.

Melbourne has played host to 20 blockbuster exhibitions since 2004 that have attracted a total of 5 million local, interstate and international visitors.

The Melbourne Winter Masterpieces series brings major international art exhibitions exclusively to Melbourne each winter.

Masterpieces from the Hermitage: The Legacy of Catherine the Great showcases one of the world’s greatest art collections.

Featuring works by artists including Rembrandt, Rubens, Velázquez and Van Dyck, the exhibition offers a dazzling array of works including the finest group of Dutch and Flemish art to come to Australia.

Melbourne culture attracts 5 million

This exclusive Melbourne exhibition will also highlight the innovation and vision of Catherine the Great, whose inexhaustible passion for education, the arts and culture heralded a period of enlightenment in the region.

The extraordinary works sourced and commissioned by Catherine during her thirty-four year reign, created the foundations for the Hermitage today – considered to be one of the world’s greatest treasure houses of art and decorative arts.

Attendance at Melbourne Art Exhibitions

Tutankhamun – 796,000
Masterpieces from the Hermitage – 172,000
David Bowie is – 161,000
Italian Masterpieces – 153,000
DreamWorks Animation – 220,000
Monet’s Garden – 343,000
Hollywood Costumes – 204,000
Game Masters – 103,000
Napoleon: Revolution to Empire – 189,000

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy